Design Perspective: Apps

ios App Icon by Omar Puig

I don’t have an iPhone, or an iPod, or an iPad…for that matter I don’t own anything that uses an app. However, that does not mean that I won’t look at design built around that prospect. When I came across this design by Omar Puig, I was pulled in by this app design. When I first saw it, I thought that it was a 3D piece for some project, but then I realized it was an app icon, something that is very 2D. I was impressed. There are two color sets to this icon, and both have the quality that makes me want to reach out and move the flaps that appear to come up out of the design in a hot-air balloon shape. Everything about these say contemporary design, and they take it a step further, with a level of detail that makes the work pop off the page.

Leave a Reply

