The Website: Sophie Menoux

Sophie Menoux

And yet another website portfolio…yes I have been looking at different artists and designers, how they work, what they do, and how it is presented. I came across this designer, Sophie Menoux, while looking for my “art parents,” the two artists and designers that I most identify with (a project from the book Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon, which I highly recommend). While this designer didn’t make the cut for my art parents, she most certainly made it when it comes to inspiration. Her work is simple, but it has a hand-lettered, hand-drawn quality that I really enjoy. The pieces are not just standard harsh typefaces that can read as cold and unwelcoming when used in certain situations, but warm and bold. They call attention to her work, whether its a call to action or not. Although I would not necessarily model my own portfolio site after this format, it is clean, and her work is clearly presented. This is a wonderful portfolio to look when I need to see something slightly more organic.

Leave a Reply

