Design Perspective: Painting

Christer Karlstad

Once again I am looking to other areas of the arts to glean inspiration. However, when I found this artist, Christer Karlstad, I wasn’t drawn to it for inspiration for my design. Instead I was enamored by the subject matter of the work. Each piece was fanciful, but had a dark side. I could enjoy the spectral figures surrounding a woman in the forest. I can understand the image of the girl with the wolf looking over her head. The piece above tells a story, but has its own twists and turns. When looking at his work, I was also intrigued by the color palette. It is toned down, almost neutral, but with a charge that gives the pieces an edge and a bit of mystery. This style of painting is not what I would expect myself to look at, but I am certainly glad I found it.

One thought on “Design Perspective: Painting

Leave a Reply

