Taking the Future

sunny by Victoria Schwanke

What’s next? That big question that I keep asking myself, but that I am truthfully afraid to answer. It is so easy to be stuck in a rut, wanting to stay in your comfort zone, ride the waves, and ignore change. But what if that isn’t what needs to happen? I have been battling these ideas as of late, especially when my college diploma arrived in the mail. That small piece of paper brought closure that I wasn’t ready for, and I didn’t realize that until I held it in my hand and thought of my future. Now, I have a lot to do and quite a bit planned for the coming months, don’t get me wrong. I’ve got a design internship that is pretty awesome, a local part-time job, a few freelance design jobs, and on the back-burner, the development of an Etsy shop. Besides all of that, I want to build my portfolio with more photography, redesign my personal portfolio site, and improve my spinning and fiber art. I have a lot that I want to accomplish.

crochet_medallion_earrings by Victoria Schwanke

Some Etsy shop tests.

Yet it seems that the main step in accomplishing things is just starting. Maybe it’s just me, but more often than not, I catch myself thinking of something that I should do or want to do, but start considering all of the details, down to the success or failure. I get stuck in this mindset, and just think, and think, and think, and think, and think…but I never start. Paralyzed, I stay there, and I repeat this process until I’m utterly frustrated. It’s not a good cycle.

Perhaps you don’t have this, but I know that this is a key reason that my future is so foggy. Clear goals are hard to set when logic overrides even the thought of dreaming big, and possibilities fade away faster than those stupid settings on PowerPoint. I don’t know about you, but summer goals are always good. You have a grip on the year, and all of those rosy new years resolutions (if you even bothered to set any, which I never do) are long forgotten. Now is a good time to start a set of goals that can be reached, and that you can stick to.

Summer is all about the positive, fresh, fun journeys that you can take. It is about sun, friends, family, and rediscovering the world and your place in it. Perhaps I should just consider this as a goal: start the day with a positive attitude and the drive to get things done. Maybe, just maybe this will be the season of doing; after all, it is the first season that is truly free and open, with no college or schooling to follow up in the fall.

& Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

